Welcome to my maiden issue… Marrakech, Morocco!

The name Marrakech originates from the Berber words mur (n) akush, which means “Land of God.” And it’s quite easy to see what’s so heavenly about this place – the explosion of colors in the Souk, or the mystical performances of snake charmers and mesmerizing dancers in Djemaa El-Fna. It is also not short of Moorish Palaces.
Let me start by introducing Djemaa El-Fna, the medina that goes to life from early afternoon to sundown. In the square you will find everything – snake charmers, dancers in costumes, food stalls with super friendly locals.

Local dancer in costume

A local in costume

My attempt at being a snake-charmer!

My attempt at being a snake-charmer!

My mum and I joining in the fun!

My mum and I joining in the fun!

Food! Food! Food! I was clowning around with the chefs!

Food! Food! Food! I was clowning around with the chefs!

The Medina at sunset, our parting shot.

We were so mesmerized by the place, but believe it or not, this was just the teaser. As we went to the tangled web of corridors in the Souk, we were just so amazed on the different things on display. I don’t suggest going to Marrakech for your first Souk though, as everywhere else would pale in comparison. In my opinion, this is even grander than the Grand Bazaar in Turkey!

Here are some amazing items on display:

Lamps! Is there a genie in any of these?

Lamps! Is there a genie in any of these?

Colorful shoes!

Colorful shoes!

Spices!

Spices!

Colorful pottery. Did you see the colorful tajines?

Colorful pottery. Did you see the colorful tajines?

Hmmm... what are these?

Hmmm… what are these?

Me outside the Souk! See the colorful carpets!

Outside the souk – I loved the colorful carpets!

I want to post a lot more pictures, but there’s just not enough space, and I want to share other aspects of this beautiful city. Aside from the Souk and the Medina, we visited a mosque as well.

Kouboutina Mosque

An inner courtyard

An inner courtyard

Intricate windows

Intricate windows

Intricate ceiling

Beautiful ceiling

Bab Agnaou Gate

Bab Agnaou Gate

Marrakech is so fashionable the famous designer Yves Saint Laurent built a home over here.

His house is blue! It is surrounded by a beautiful garden filled with cacti! Artists are quirky indeed!

Marrakech is clearly a city full of attractions that makes anyone want to come back for more. It’s a long way from Singapore, but for those who live in Europe, it’s nice to make Marrakech a weekend getaway!

How we g0t there

We flew in via Qatar Airways. We got a good deal – economy class tickets at SGD 900, and business class tickets at barely SGD2,000.

How we went around

We went on a tour with Insight Tours, a London-based tour agency. I am not sure how easy it is to travel independently, though I know of people who did so with not much trouble. For single female travelers, it may be a bit of a challenge to travel there by yourself.

Hope you liked my maiden post!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

